My True Self

I’m a seeker of innocence
A seeker of lies
Hide from consequence
Out pour the cries

How’s the weather on your perch so high?
Looking down on those you’ve deemed unworthy
I don’t exist in your eyes
You don’t know what you can’t see

Watch the skies grow dark and grey
As the storm rolls in
See the lightning crash and hear the thunder play
Let the rain begin

I’m sorry that I’m such a burden
That I make your life so hard
All you see is disappointment and sin
A waste, unworthy, broken, and scarred

But I am invisible
You don’t see the real me
My true self I try to hide or kill
Because my truth is that ugly

Get your feelings out here

