The “Gospel” Truth

I may suffer from no motivation
And I continuously plead for more energy
I won’t waste my time with yet another explanation
But it all comes down to ignominy

Why try and change my ways
When life dealt me this hand?
And as my soul slowly decays
I ponder, why is your way so grand?

How can you be such a miserable person?
Bringing everyone around you down
We’re drowning from your lugubrious immersion
Your negative narcissism is renown

It’s a waste of breath and I know it’s impossible
To make you understand what everyone does see
The world doesn’t revolve around you and your gospel
No one knows it better than me

3 thoughts on “The “Gospel” Truth

  1. danabeesvoice July 26, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    Wow, I could have (but didn’t) write this poem about someone near me who is so toxic I can’t take it anymore. In fact, declared myself recently completely done with her toxicity. So freeing. I feel this one to my bones, Shay. To the point, on point.

    Like

    • asizCreatives July 26, 2016 / 3:23 pm

      Unfortunately, I think everyone has, or had, someone like this in their life. Kudos to you for recognizing and eliminating your poisonous person. For reasons I won’t say here, I can’t be rid of mine so I decided to release my feelings through words. I figured if I can’t be done with the actual person I can at least let go of the power they hold over my feelings and thoughts.
      I’m glad that you are now free and hope that you continue to do well. Thank you, as always, for all your support! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. danabeesvoice July 30, 2016 / 1:43 pm

    Thanks for your response. I must admit that even though I may have said I got rid of my toxic person, it is my sister and it’s hard to *divorce* family members. She apparently has turned to poisoning her kids against me now (I should have counted on that, but was hoping for another outcome). The whole thing hurts AND makes me more angry than ever. She has been my lifelong nemesis. She has been described to me by four independent mental health professionals, by assessment of my descriptions of her behavior towards me and others, as having a narcissistic personality disorder. My mother and grandmother were exactly the same. ANYWAY….I have cut her off and will have to take the fallout for awhile. I’m sure she’s waiting for me to reject my new liver or something, but I’m too strong for that, have fought and won too many battles to lose this huge win! And so far everything looks great for my baby liver (which will be full-grown by the end of August) – I got a portion of a liver. Have no idea how I will wade through this financially. I’m just taking one step at a time. My friends are being fabulous with me. Helpful in so many ways. It’ll take me probably a full year to get back to….what? pre-disease? I don’t know what, just full recovery I guess. I feel a little better every day. You keep writing your poetry, Shay. You keep getting better and better, and this last leap up was pretty big. You take care and be good to you. Love, Dana ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Get your feelings out here

